pasek Bolonia
About the Bologna Process PDF Print E-mail



Term „Bologna Process” define overall actions undertaken by the European countries aiming to restructuring and harmonization of the educational systems in Europe.



The Bologna Process lunched with the Bologna Declaration sigh in 1999 is one of the largest voluntary processes carried out in Europe.


Currently process involve 47 countries, the European Commission and and the consultative members: Rada Europy, UNESCO-CEPES, EUA, ESU, EURASHE, ENQA, Education International and BUSINESSEUROPE.




Main goal of the Bologna Process was to create by 2010 European Higher Education Area, which would allow freedom of cooperation of the participating countries in field of Higher Education (quality assurance of the education, recognition of the academic achievements) and research. This cooperation should enable creation and maintenance of the knowledge based society, and so greater integration of the European countries.

For over 10 years of the Bologna Process, the key decisions on: the priority actions, implementation of bologna tools, acceptance of the documents and designating European standards and good practices, were taken on the regular Ministerial Conferences – meeting of the ministers responsible for the higher education in the participating countries.








was officially launched in March 2010, during the Anniversary Conference of the Ministers in Budapest – Vienna.

EHEA currently comprises 47 countries which signed latest communiqué from the Ministerial Conference, comminting to further cooperation in designated areas and to further implementation of the Bologna Process postulates.


The existence of a European Higher Education Area doesn’t mean an achievement of all the objectives agreed upon by the ministers involved in the Bologna Process. As stocktaking reports and implementation reports of the participating countries show, reforms of the Bologna Process should be strengthened to ensure greater comparability, compatibility and coherence of the higher education systems in Europe.

Therefore, in the EHEA action, in areas identified by the Bologna process, should be continued and focus on reducing the discrepancies in the implementation of the bologna postulates in the countries forming EHEA.



Priorities and action lines define in the Leuven/Louvain-la-Neuve Communiqué from 2009 remain valid. Action and cooperation within the EHEA will focus on the following aspects:

  • Social dimension;
  • Lifelong learning;
  • Employability;
  • Student-centred learning;
  • Education, research and innovation;
  • Mobility;
  • Data collection;
  • Multidimensional transparency tools;
  • Funding.

gwiasdka Next milestone in the development of the EHEA will be the Conference of the Ministers in Bucharest on 26-27 April 2012.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 26 January 2011 11:34